About MacDrive disk protection: "MacDrive has protected a Mac disk"

With MacDrive installed, you may be prompted that "MacDrive has protected a Mac disk - Windows can't modify partitions on Mac disks".  MacDrive automatically protects Mac disks from being modified by Windows in order to protect data on the disk.  

Letting Windows modifying Mac partitions or otherwise change the structure of a Mac disk is risky.  Because Windows isn't designed to safely modify Mac disks, it's possible that changing just one partition on a Mac disk may cause other partitions on the disk to disappear, resulting in data loss.  This dialog box also prevents accidentally formatting the Mac disk when it's not intended.

When you see the MacDrive disk protection dialog box, you'll have three choices:

Don't change the Mac disk:  You should choose this option if you did not intend to erase or modify your Mac drive, such as if this message occurs unexpectedly.

Modify the Mac disk with MacDrive Disk Manager: MacDrive can safely add or remove individual partitions from a Mac disk without affecting other Mac partitions.  You should select this option if you want to keep the disk Mac-formatted, but you want to make changes to one or more individual partitions.

Erase the Mac disk so I can make Windows partitions:  You should select this option if you no longer want the disk to be Mac-formatted, and want to use Windows to format it permanently and start over (such as to NTFS or FAT32).

Please note that MacDrive does not support disks with multiple partition types other than those created on a Mac with Boot Camp, so it's not possible to use MacDrive to create a disk with both Mac and Windows partitions.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

  • Avatar
    Lights Out Outdoors

    No it will not allow me to format the drive even in Disk Management

  • Avatar
    Nancy Griffin

    Same....it will not allow me to format the drive in the Disk Management utility. How can we erase the Mac disk so we can make Windows partitions please?

  • Avatar
    Nicole Mahoney

    Can't do it here, either.

  • Avatar
    Roz

    Can you format the drive if you first erase the Mac volume with Windows Disk Manager?

  • Avatar
    be

    I found a way to solve this issue :

    1) Uninstall MacDrive & Reboot

    2) Use Windows Disk Manager to format your partition ( http://pcsupport.about.com/od/windowsxp/ht/disk-management-xp.htm)

    3) Re install MacDrive & Reboot

    :-)

  • Avatar
    daveline

    I have a similar issue, but a slightly better solution.

    1. disable MacDrive from options & reboot

    2. Use Windows Disk Manager to format your partition (http://pcsupport.about.com/od/windowsxp/ht/disk-management-xp.htm)

    3. Re enable MacDrive & Reboot

    :-)

     

  • Avatar
    Louispeluso

    this continues to pop up on my screen and has for months now. i do not consider it a feature. i consider it a nag prompt. is there any way to disable this? i find it VERY ANNOYING to have to dismiss this thing sometimes ten times a day.

  • Avatar
    Bull Media Group

    When I get this error I cannot read the disk.  I do not want to modify the disk, modify or erase (the three options) I only want to read the disk.  It is formatted as a mac disk used to record video files from a black magic cinema camera.  it has footage on the disk and I cannot format the disk for this reason.  any suggestions?  Thanks. 

  • Avatar
    Thomas

    Hello,

    I would recommend that you add some additional warnings to your "Protected a Mac Disk" dialog box. Yesterday, MacDrive deleted both partition on my drive after I only asked to delete one. To be more specific. I had two partitions on a 2tb drive, 1tb exfat, 1tb HFS+. My plan was to delete the HFS partition and extend the exfat to fill the entire drive. I therefore opened disk management and selected the HFS partition to delete.  This brought up the MacDrive dialog box. I chose "Erase the Mac disk so I can make Windows partitions" but this deleted both partitions on the drive not just the HFS partition. I therefore think you need to add a clear warning that if you choose this option all partitions will be erased. It is definitely not clear witht he current language.

Powered by Zendesk